Equestrian Skills Development

Equestrian Skills Development competitions (ESD) are horse shows that are approved and sanctioned by the Ontario Equestrian Federation at the schooling level. In previous years, these competitions were referred to as “Discovery” shows.

ESD competitions are the perfect place for horse and rider to gain show ring experience! In a more relaxed environment, competitors will obtain valuable experience and build their confidence in the show ring in turn helping them with any future competition endeavours.

ESD competitions are permitted to use Equine Canada “r” status judges for Hunter/Jumper, up to and including “B” status judges for Dressage and OEF accredited officials. By using qualified officials competitors can be sure they will receive the same quality of judging as when they compete at EC bronze or silver level competitions. All riders and horse owners are required to have (only) a valid OEF membership in order to compete at ESD competitions. Thus ensuring all horses and riders are insured as a safety precaution.

How do you sanction an ESD competition?

1. Review the ESD Sanctioning Guidelines and Requirements 

2. Submit a completed 2016 ESD Competition Application Form  to the OEF Office along with the following:

  • Sanctioning Fee Payment
  • Completed copy of your ESD Horse Show Insurance Certificate (as per the Guidelines and Requirements in step #1)
  • Copies of your competition prize list and entry form

Note – If any changes or additions need to be made to the information that was provided on the competition application form after it has been submitted you must do so by completing and submitting an ESD Competition Modification Form.

** All required paper work must be submitted no later than 30 days prior to the competition start date or late fees apply.

If you have any further questions regarding this level of competition please contact Pam Coburn, p.coburn@horse.on.ca or 1-877-441-7112 ext. 26.

For more information on the OEF Provincial Level Officials Program and a list of accredited officials click here.